Getting a Library Card
Getting a card for a minor

 ​All children and teens under the age of 16 must have a parent present in order to obtain a library card.

The card will be in the child's name, but the parent will hold all financial responsibility. 

Teens 16 years of age and older are allowed to apply for a card and take financial responsibility for themselves, but must also provide a Michigan photo ID and proof of permanent residence in the City of Benton Harbor or Benton Charter Township. 

Residents of the City of Benton Harbor and Benton Charter Township are eligible for a free Benton Harbor Public Library Account. Residents outside of the City or Township may request a MILibrary sticker to be placed on their card.*

Residents wishing to apply for a Library Card must present both a Michigan photo ID and proof of permanent residence in the City of Benton Harbor or Benton Charter Township.

 

Accepted Photo IDs:
  • State-Issued License

  • State-Issued ID Card  

 

Accepted Proofs of Residence:
  • Mail Postmarked within the last week

*MILibrary Card participating libraries:

  • Benton Harbor 

  • Berrien Springs 

  • Coloma 

  • Eau Claire 

  • New Buffalo 

  • Sodus 

  • Three Oaks

  • Watervliet

Library Card Responsibilities
  1. You are responsible for all materials checked out on your library card. The person signing for a minor is financially responsible for all fines and fees.

  2. Materials are to be returned by the stated due date.

  3. There are no overdue FINES. Materials must still be renewed and returned on time.

  4. You are blocked from borrowing when your overdue or unreturned items.

  5. After 4 months, materials that have not been returned are assumed lost and charged to your account.